Guppy tank water chemistry.

I have never had any patience when it comes to water chemistry or when it comes to fish in general. In the past I have over fed my fish and they have died as a result from poor water quality and over feeding. I wish I had known more about cycling tanks and how important the nitrogen cycle is when it comes to keeping an aquarium of fish healthy. It really takes weeks to fully cycle a tank.

After replacing my old aquarium filter with my new  sponge filter I left the old filter in the tank for a week so the beneficial bacteria could colonize the new filter. Doing so did raise the nitrate and ammonium levels. The ammonia levels were at 1 ppm and the nitrite levels were at 5 ppm. I removed the old filter and tested the water for the past couple of days and the ammonia has decreased to 0 ppm and the nitrites are down to 2 ppm again. Hopefully the water changes and better filtration will help keep the tank cycled.

The guppy fry are 5 weeks old (one month and a week). They have developed more color. At 4 weeks they had only developed their black markings, but now you can definitely see the difference between the coloring of the males and females. Six of the fry are females and four are males. The obvious difference in fin shape only just developed. The males have a gonopodium, which is a specialized fin that is used to deliver sperm to the female.

I ordered a male turquoise tuxedo guppy from a member on Guppy Fish Enthusiasts facebook page. I saw some in petsmart that were about 4 months old, but did not want to buy another guppy from Petsmart at the moment. This guy is 1 year and a bit, but he was too beautiful to resist. He arrived on Thursday in perfect health. I also started cycling a new tank using one of the mature sponges from my original tank. I have managed to separate my females from my males.

Another update: The mystery snails have exhibited mating behavior and  I expect I will see eggs soon.

Having technical problem’s with photos. Will update as soon as I fix them.

Leave a Reply

