Tail rot in guppies

Well things started off really well, but the day before yesterday I noticed that the black tailed female had some white spots one her tail. At first I though it could be ich, but then her tail started deteriorating at an alarming rate. I did some research and came to the conclusion it must be tail rot or fin rot if it is affecting the fishes fins. Tail rot is caused by flesh eating bacteria that occur when water conditions are poor or if a fish is stressed. She looked pretty healthy when I first brought her home so I am hoping that the infection was not from my tank. I am going to to test the water to make sure. I will need to either take a sample into the pet store of invest in a water testing kit.

To treat the infection I bought and All-In-One remedy made by Marineland that treats external parasites, viral, fungal and bacterial infections. I had to remove the activated carbon from my filter and place 1 tablet per 5 gallons of water. My tank is 10 gallons so I placed 2 tablets in. I was to do this for 5 days. Unfortunately after only two days the fish did not make it. Perhaps her infection was much further along than I thought. It could not have helped that she was pregnant too. I think I should have bought some Melafix, which is a natural medication that heals open wounds and abrasions, treats fin rot, eye cloud, mouth fungus and promotes regrowth of damaged fin rays and tissues. It could of been useful to have had some on hand when I was transitioning the fish from the store into my tank. I will have some handy next time I introduce a new fish into my tank.

img_20170117_210605826

Here is the product I used to try and treat the tail rot

img_20170117_163833219

A picture showing how much of her tail was eaten by the bacteria. Earlier today she did have more of a tail.

img_20170117_164033563

I wanted to see how pregnant she was. The fry were not very developed.

It is very interesting learning these things about my fish. Next time I will know a bit more about tail rot. I know I may come across many other things, but I do hope that I will be able to fix things faster.

All the other fish look well and the babies are growing every day.

Leave a Reply

